A letter from Nanjing

(For svenskt inlagg - aterkom senare.. inga foton idag heller eftersom maskinerna pa internet cafeet inte tar cd skivor.. sanslost!!)

Here I am in an Internet cafe in Nanjing to upload pictures to show you people how amazing this country is but it seems it just won't happen. In the first hostel the computers broke down. In the second one the computers die every time I try to upload and in this cafe the computers doesnt have a thingie for cds. So I'll do my best to paint you a pictures in my own words.

I been in China for a week now and the first 5 days in Shanghai were amazing. We saw temples and amazing gardens and it's killing me I cant show the pictures! I love this country and the Chinese are nothing like I expected. I feel safe and they're friendly and I must say that the men here are fantastic. They take care of the kids and apparently they clean and cook and the wives can just relax and be ladies.. now that's impressing.

Shanghai was kind of dirty but still unbelievable. The view from the Bund was a space age dream landscape and then not far from it is an old old garden which took our breath away. Me and Pauline ( a korean gal we made friends with at the hostel) made a daytrip to Suzhou but unfortunately Maria had to spend the day in bed. Her feet had swollen up and ached and itched so she couldn't walk. We're quite certain that it was the dirty rain water flowing down the streets and there we were walking around in flip flops.. not a good idea.

It's funny how they stare at us and point and take pictures. We feel like caged monkeys from time to time. It's not subtle stares.. people hang out of their windows at cars, trains and sometimes even come back a second time to have another look at us. We been photographed plenty of times and mothers stop with their children and point at us for them to see the strange white people. Also Marias blonde hair doesnt make it any easier to blend in.. haha..

We met plenty of great people. I have already mentioned Pauline and besides her there's been some real good people at the hostels. Also some extremely annoying ones of course. But so far I am very happy with the trip. I still find it hard to bargain. Mostly because things are so cheap anyway and it makes me feel so rude to want things even cheaper. But I guess I have to work on that. It's just the way things go here. But prices never stops to amaze me. Today me and Maria had 'breakfast' (we were quite hungover and it was after 1pm) at a cute little place with waiters that wouldnt stop giggling at us. We got a giant hotpot with potatoes and duck.. side dishes with cooked crayfish, watermelon, steamed beans, rice and as much tea as we could down.. All for 45 yuan which is next to nothing for two people.. about 4 british pounds and 6 US dollars.. And it was sooooo tasty!! Yeah the whole veggie thingie here doesnt go too well... They speak no english and when we order we kinda just point at something on the menu and hope for the best. Just have to put my guilty conscience aside at the moment and get back on track in Sweden..

Right so since I dont have any pictures to amaze you with I will now return to the hostel.. get Maria and head out for another crazy night in Nanjing. Last night ended in a sports bar (that will show Sweden play football tomorrow.. YAY!!) and then some REAL UNBELIEVABLY hot BBQ from a street vendor and then to a r'n'b-ish club. Good Friday night. Tonight we're off to the 1912 district which is a stylish bar and club area so that should be good. Think I'll keep away from the street food tonight.. hehe..

Okidoki that's it for now.. Lots a love!

-M


Tags:
, , , , , , , ,

Kommentarer/Comments
Postat av: Sister

Intressant o kul läsning! :D

Jobbigt med deras stirrande. Men det är du lite van vid från Japan-resorna?! Fast det kanske är lite svårt att vänja sig vid det!

Ser fram emot bilder som fan!

Poos

2008-06-14 @ 20:26:52

Åsiktsfrihet här / Freedom of speech here:

Namn / Name:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress (valfritt) / Email (not required):

URL - din Blogg / URL - your Blog:

Din Åsikt / Your Point of View:

Trackback