Last hours in Chengdu

Woke up today feeling refreshed and rather free from illness. Still got a cough but at least the horrid fever is gone. Think it was the hike up to the Grand Buddha yesterday that made me sweat out whatever germs that were still hiding within me. Le Shan (where the Buddha is located) was a two hour busride from Chengdu. We got up at 06.30 because I wanted to get on the earliest bus to beat the crowds but in the end Maria couldnt go. The poor thing had been up all night because of tummy problems. Probably something she had eaten. Such a shame that she missed out on the one reason we came to Chengdu at all. I did the best out of the situation and woolfed a big breakfast and then hailed a cab to take me to Xinnanmen Bus Station. And whoopeee.. all sign were in English for once. At 08.10 I was on the bus. The man next to me made big efforts to keep a conversation and in the end we did ok only through body language. He was amazed by my many birthmarks on my arms as he had none. He also giggled when he discovered we both at scars on our knuckle on the left hand. I mimed if he'd been in a fight but he hadnt then I joked that mine was from a fight and his eyes almost popped out from its sockets.. I dont think I managed to convinced him it was only a joke.. he let me be for quite a while after that mime session. Until I got up my mobile to text Maria. Then he watched the swedish words on the display and kept asking if it was english. He just wouldnt take no for an answer.

When I 2 hours later got of the bus somewhere in LeShan I never even got a second to wonder where I was going next.  A man walked passed me with a chinese tour group and offered that for 2yuan I could go with them to there east gate which was one entrance to the Buddha through the Oriental Buddha Park. I didnt think twice but jumped in his minibus and off we went. When reaching the destinantion I realised for real which impact the earthquake had and still has. The mountain was completely empty. We were about 20 people there that kept passing eachother every now and then. What a strange feeling that was. To have the place sometimes all to myself and my thoughts. I think that made the experience even more magical. I hiked for about 1,5hour when I suddenly saw something weird poking up infront of me. It was the Buddhas hair. And there he was. The biggest Buddha in the world. I will not try to explain how gigantic he is. I'll wait until I got pics ro show you. After a few more hours of walking up and down stairs I suddenly felt the illness slowly returning and I didnt want to take another step. Then my lifesaver showed up from nowhere. A guy on his pedicab (cycling taxi) waved at me and yelled if I needed to go to the bus back to Chengdu. Now that is luck. About 20min later I was on the shabbiest bus I ever seen but at least I was heading back home. I love China.

Last night Maria left around 9pm to go on her river cruise and myself Im heading for Luoyang this afternoon. We're meeting up in Beijing on the 1st of July. Think it is good for us both to do something on our own. It has gone surprisingly well between us but some alone time is precious for both of us.

Time for me to check out. Have a big meal before I get on that 24hours train to Luoyang and my Longmen Caves and the Shaolin temple. Until next time, lots of love and kisses,

-M


Kommentarer/Comments
Postat av: Sister

Har du förätit dig på dumplings än? :)

2008-06-28 @ 13:39:52
Postat av: Tink *~*~*

I am so sorry that you haven't been well. It stinks to be on vacation and not feel well! I hope you are completely better very soon. Can't wait to see the Buddha!



Tink ~~*

Postat av: Anonym

Jag vet att du älskar att flaxa runtom alla väldens hörn så jag hoppas att dina fötter

inristar eviga spår i Kina också.



Ha det bra och kul på slutet av din resa.

Jag älskar dig.



2008-06-29 @ 11:26:54

Åsiktsfrihet här / Freedom of speech here:

Namn / Name:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress (valfritt) / Email (not required):

URL - din Blogg / URL - your Blog:

Din Åsikt / Your Point of View:

Trackback