Xian Terracotta Warriors (a k a BUY BUY BUY)

How does one describe todays daytrip to the warriors... Well the terracotta army itself was magnificent and left me speachless at many times. How one single person could be behind all this (and also the great wall of China) is incredible but on the edge to madness. 70,000 people died while building his underground kingdom spanning over 56km. Then there is the thousands and thousands warriors. He expected them to live in the afterlife and protect him and his world beneath the surface. The pits were gigantic and in one there was about 6000 more soldiers to be dug up and put together. But then not only terracotta men were made but some had horses aswell. All in lifesize. How I wish I could show you all the photos I took! Something I given up on. Although they at this hostel got a thingie to transmit the pics from my camera the computers are far too slow. Mental reminder: next trip bring the laptop!

Rest of the thing we did on the daytrip (a tour through the hostel) was visiting the workshop were souvenir terracotta soldiers in all sizes were made. Also a silk factory. But these two were just disguised opportunities for the place to sell us their merchandise. Even the lunch place which were supposed to be good local food were held at a international hotel with a buffe and then the staff tried to get us to buy paintings. Extremely tiring but that's China for you. If they can make an extra buck they will sure as try to!

Tomorrow it is time to explore a bit more of Xian. I did it for a bit after the daytrip but Maria is ill with a sore throat and fever so hopefully she can join me tomorrow. I of course got lost (again) after my visit to the Great Wild Goose Pagoda and myself went out on a wild goose chase. Ending in me hopping on a bus after asking 3-4 people where the heck South Gate is. Never ever trust a chinese map! In both Japan and Korea I been doing real good with maps but here it is better just to head out and then use a bus or cab to get back home.

My tummy is moaning at me so I guess it's feeding time. Think I deserve a cold beer aswell after my afternoon in the rain. (Dear sun, where o where art thou?)

Kisses to all!
-M

Tags:
, , , , , , ,

Kommentarer/Comments
Postat av: Mamma

Oj då … jag har missat dig … bara ”dumma” 2 minuter.

Läste: ”Reporting from Xian” och du skrev

Xian Terracotta Warriors (a k a BUY BUY BUY).

Tack för lästvärd

Jag älskar dig

2008-06-22 @ 13:39:58
Postat av: Sister

Skulle också vilja se och uppleva detta! Låter helt fantastiskt!

Synd att mina sms är blanka, fattar nada:( Fick du fotot?



Poxie mjauar.

Puss på dig.

2008-06-23 @ 02:10:35

Åsiktsfrihet här / Freedom of speech here:

Namn / Name:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress (valfritt) / Email (not required):

URL - din Blogg / URL - your Blog:

Din Åsikt / Your Point of View:

Trackback